fbpx

Collaborating on PARTNER Projects

A common request that we receive from users of the PARTNER Platform is the ability to share a project with another user.  In the legacy PARTNER Tool, the only option to achieve this goal was to have multiple users sharing the password to a single login.  The solution was effective, but it presented issues with security and data privacy.  Sharing passwords was not a good way of collaborating because any time a password to an account is shared, it opens more possibilities that the password could fall into the wrong hands.  It is also possible—and common—for a single PARTNER user to be managing multiple projects with sensitive information.  Sharing a password to an account with multiple projects so that another person can access just a single project is overkill and could potentially leak data!

In the latest version of the PARTNER Platform, we have added a Collaboration feature that allows a Project Owner to grant access to a single project to one or more other Platform users.  Our users are now able to give other Platform Users Read-Only or Read/Write access to their projects.

Adding a Collaborator to a Project

Anyone that you want to collaborate with needs to have an existing PARTNER Platform account. If you need to collaborate with someone who has not registered with the PARTNER Platform, you will need to reach out to the person and ask them to register for an account.  In the future, users will be able to enter an e-mail address of a collaborator to invite them to the platform.

The process for adding a Collaborator to an existing project is:

  1. Log in to the PARTNER Platform at https://partner.visiblenetworklabs.com
  2. Click on “Projects” on the left side of the navigation bar:

3. Find the project that you want to add a Collaborator to

4. Click on the link under the “Collaborators” column for the project

a. If the project has no collaborators, the link says “0 – Add” to indicate that the project has no collaborators assigned to it and that you have the option to add them

b. If the project already has collaborators, the link says “N – Add/Edit” where N is the number of collaborators that have been assigned to the project. Clicking this link will allow you to add new collaborators, adjust permission for existing collaborators, or to remove a Collaborator’s access to project(s) entirely.

3. Click on the “Add New Collaborator” button:

8. Enter the e-mail address of the Platform User that you want to collaborate with. If the e-mail address is associated with an existing PARTNER Platform user, you will be prompted to give the user either Read-Only or Read/Write access to the project.

7. Select the appropriate access level for the Collaborator and choose “Save Collaborator”

Setting Different Access Levels

Read-Only

Read-Only access grants a Collaborator access to your project’s data, but the Collaborator is not able to change any aspects of the project.  A list of features that a Read-Only user can access are:

  • Raw Data Export
  • Data Visualizer: network maps, network scores, charts of results
    • NOTE: Data Visualizer requires an Active Subscription.  If the Project Owner of a Collaboration has an active subscription, all Collaborators will have access to the Data Visualizer.  If the Project Owner does not have an active subscription, a Collaborator will only have access to the Data Visualizer if the Collaborator has an active subscription.
 

Read/Write

  • Raw Data Export
  • Data Visualizer: network maps, network scores, charts of results
    • NOTE: Data Visualizer requires an Active Subscription.  If the Project Owner of a Collaboration has an active subscription, all Collaborators will have access to the Data Visualizer.  If the Project Owner does not have an active subscription, a Collaborator will only have access to the Data Visualizer if the Collaborator has an active subscription.
  • Add network members
  • Edit existing network members
  • Add survey questions
  • Edit existing survey questions
  • Send e-mails to network members
    • NOTE: E-mails sent from a collaborator will appear to come from the collaborator (not the Project Owner!)
    • NOTE: collaborators will not have access to e-mail templates that were created by the Project Owner.  If a Collaborator needs access to an e-mail template, the Project Owner will need to send the e-mail template to the Collaborator outside of the Platform.  In future iterations of the Platform, Project Owners will be able to granularly share specific E-mail Templates with specific Collaborators.

Accessing Your Collaborations

Follow this process to access projects that you have been given Collaborator access to:

  1. Log in to the Platform
  2. Click on the “Collaborations” tab in your Project List:

3. All projects that you have been added as a Collaborator to will be listed:

a. Projects that you have Read/Write access to are clickable and will allow you to edit aspects of the project. The projects can also be expanded to reveal Data Export and Visualization options.

b. Projects that you have Read-Only access to are not clickable, but they can be expanded to reveal Data Export and Visualization options. Options to edit a project that you have Read-Only access to will be disabled.

c. You can see what Access Level you have for a given project by expanding the project and examining the “Project Permissions” field:

Share This Blog with Your Social Network!

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email

About the Author: Mike Cooper

Mike has been with VNL for over 10 years, starting out as a student and moving easily into the role of chief engineer a decade later. Mike has been the brain behind the development of the PARTNER Tool and PCN App, working tirelessly to ensure that our complex data environments all work together to provide high quality user tools, complex data analytics, and a constant desire to be sure our customers are never without immediate technical support.

You can contact him at mike@visiblenetworklabs.com.

Learn more about Mike and the rest of our team here.

2019-10-05T10:57:01-07:00

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Get our Best Resources:
Join our Newsletter!